Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About EDU 6020 LIBM
LIBM 6025 Organization and Collection Management is one of seven courses required for teachers and non-certificated school librarians to earn Washington state school library certification through Antioch University Seattle (AUS). It is a 3-quarter credit, completely online graduate course which can be applied toward completion of a Masters of Arts in Education.
Course Description: Using standard evaluation tools, candidates assess and strategically plan a school library program to enhance student learning. They also collaboratively assess and select both physical and virtual resources to support the diverse needs of students and the school’s curriculum. Digital vs. print, equitable access, in-school use of personal computing devices, and budgeting are some of the topics explored.
Click here for details about the K-12 Library Media Endorsement program at AUS.
Jennifer LaGarde's Collection Management Infographic
From Jennifer LaGarde's Library Girl Blog of 4/14/13. Read the blog.
Collection Management of Print & Digital Resources
Ruth Bader Ginsberg
“Fight for the things that you care about, but do it in a way that will lead others to join you."
Ruth Bader Ginsberg
Collection Policies Analyzed in New Research
Recommended and Referenced Books
Most of these titles are available as ebooks in EBSCOhost's eBook Academic Collection which is one of the library databases provided to all AUS students.
Less Is More by
Publication Date: 2006
Available to AUS students as an EBSCO ebook; This user-friendly guide explains why weeding is important; outlines the steps to get started; breaks weeding criteria down by over 70 topics and Dewey numbers.
Developing a Vision by
Publication Date: 2011
Apply your unique skills and insight to develop a timely and meaningful vision for the school's library. Presents two different approaches to strategic planning process
Libraries, Mission, and Marketing by
Publication Date: 2003
Available to AUS students as an EBSCO ebook; How to describe your library's value in a few clear, targeted sentences. Create your mission statement and put it to work, includes models to inspire you in the process.
The Weeding Handbook by
Publication Date: 2015
Available to AUS students as an EBSCO ebook; Filled with field-tested, no nonsense strategies, this handbook will enable libraries to bloom by maintaining a collection that users actually use.
The Collection Program in Schools by
Publication Date: 2016
This thorough treatment of collection development will serve school library educators and students as well as practicing school librarians, providing quick access to information that is both immediately useful and helpful as unforeseen situations arise. * Provides a complete guide to collection management for students as well as practitioners * Addresses current educational initiatives and new standards * Introduces key principles of curation such as acquisition, description, organization, promotion, evaluation, and maintenance * Supplies an overview of school funding models and their effects on school library resourcing as well as a discussion on grant writing and federal sources of assistance * Outlines creative strategies for working in a climate of change and uncertainty