Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Antioch University Seattle School Library Certification Program: Selection & Curation

EDU 602 LIBM Program and Collection Management is a required course in the school library endorsement program of Antioch University Seattle

School Library Journals and Websites With Reviews

Finding Diverse Books

Selection Methodologies and Ideas

Award Winning Books & Media

The "Best of " Lists for 2018.
SLJ's The Yarn - Colby Sharp and Travis Yonker share their top reads
Mr. Shu Reads Top List for 2018 - **Coming to PSLA Conference in 2019!!
NPR's Book Concierge - great interactive list for all ages

Free Webinars Present New Books and Media

Free Online Archived Webinars

Check out Booklist Online's FREE webinars; many on collection management and selection of resources.

Articles Relative to ELL Students (some in AUS databases)

AASL Toolkit for the Underserved

Resource Guide for Underserved Student Populations (2016)

This 58-page guide focuses on five student populations considered by AASL to be underserved in K-12 education: children in foster care, homeless children, children of incarcerated parents, children of migrant workers, and children in non-traditional families. Each section focuses on an individual population and is further subdivided into the following areas:

  1. Introduction & Background
  2. Further Readings
  3. Resources
  4. Programming
  5. Practical Tips
  6. Legislation
  7. Collection Development

Diversity Webinar

Produced by Alliance for Excellent Education, April 30, 2019

In this webinar panelists will discuss the value of maintaining a book collection that not only reflects the school community, but also is reflective of the global community of which we all are a part. Recognizing that centering diversity means centering the stories, experiences, and voices of historically marginalized people, including people of color, indigenous voices, LGBTQIA+ individuals and allies, differently-abled individuals, and neurodiverse voices.

New Selection Policy Document

  

Overview of the Online Toolkit

The “Selection and Reconsideration Policy Toolkit for Public, School, and Academic Libraries” is ready to use.

  • The toolkit is organized into 4 basic areas1) Introduction–Why Do I need a Policy? 2) Basic Components of a Section Policy, 3) Reconsideration Procedures, and 4) the Appendix.
  • Specific information and sample policy text is provided for public, school, and academic libraries. For each section of the toolkit, there is general introductory information, specific information for each type of library, and finally sample policy text for public, school, and academic libraries. Check out the Gifts and Donations section.
  • Navigation is easyAt the bottom of each screen, there is an outline of the parts of the toolkit. The section you are reviewing is highlighted, so you can’t get lost.
  • Take a test drive. School library-specific information and samples are easy to locate. Under the section “Selection Criteria” scroll down to the School Library Selection Criteria section. At the end of the criteria, you will find the Top Five Recommended School Library Reviewing Sources for school libraries. Beyond that, check out the “additional review sources” link which will take you to a table with over 100 alphabetically listed additional review sources for school, public, and academic libraries.
  • Use the Appendix. It contains core intellectual freedom documents, information on challenge support, and a bibliography of additional resources.

Related Articles on Diversifying Collections

Waitman, K. (2020). Student Diversity Inspires Special: “Our Languages” CollectionKnowledge Quest, 48(3), 32–39.

Spanish Resources

FROM: Elizabeth Tarde, a school librarian in a bilingual (English/ Spanish) k-8 charter school in Philadelphia. 
 
Print Books:
Perma Bound and Children's Press have library bound books in Spanish, but you need to know what you are looking for (Specific titles).
 
Santilana has a great selection of books in Spanish and Spanish curriculum. However, their binding is not very good, not intended for library use. You may need to use the CoverOne machine to improve the binding or get them for specific kids/ classes.
 
Scholastic has books in Spanish as well, but not as big a selection. However, if you have Scholastic dollars, it's a good place to shop. They even have library bound books in Spanish or bilingual. They also have warehouse sales where teachers/ librarians can get books very cheap. In our area, they usually have a fair amount of Spanish books at the warehouse sales. 
 
American Reading Company (100 Book Challenge) has bins of books on various themes in Spanish. These are intended for classroom use, as curriculum. 
 
First Book is a great resource for getting books for free or at a reduced cost. They do have some books in Spanish, but much more in English. You have to be a Title 1 school to apply for membership. Once your application is approved (24 hours?) you can sign up for FREE book distributions where you either pick up the books at a certain location at a certain time or pay just for shipping. You can also shop their marketplace for books, teacher resources, coats, snacks, etc. all at really reduced prices. 
 
eBooks:
I would suggest EPIC. It's free for teachers/ librarians to use in school. There is a paid subscription parents can have. They have a pretty good selection of ebooks in Spanish (obviously way more in English). They have MANY nonfiction ebooks and videos. Many of their books have a read aloud feature which is great for ELLs and Kindergarteners-1st graders.
 
Book Flix from Scholastic is supposed to have a good selection of Spanish ebooks, but you have to pay for this subscription. I haven't used it personally.
 
Websites:
NEWSELA has many news articles in Spanish. Our teachers use this as a resource (https://newsela.com/articles/#/rule/spanish). 
 
This site has info on American History in Spanish (http://www.salonhogar.net/INDICE_EU/Historia/C12.htm).
 
This site also has info on American History in Spanish (http://www.proyectosalonhogar.com/Diversos_Temas/Historia%20EU.htm).

íWOW Libros: Leyendo entre palabras! WOW Libros is an electronic journal of critical reviews of children's and adolescent literature originally published in Spanish. Check it out at: https://wowlit.org/on-line-publications/wow-libros/vi-e1/

Excellent article: Bowles, D. (2019). Making mirrorsKnowledge Quest, 48(2), 62–64. 

More Recommended Titles to Improve Diversity

Book List Online www.booklistonline.com
• Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction
• Top 10 Diverse Picture Books
• Top 10 Diverse Fiction for Older and Middle Readers

Amelia Bloomer Book List http://www.ala.org/awardsgrants/amelia-bloomer-book-list
Bibliography of books with significant feminist content.

What is #Our OwnVoices?

#Ownvoices is a hashtag that started on twitter, used to recommend books about diverse characters written by authors from that same diverse group. Collected here are some of the most popular #ownvoices young adult novels in recent years.

Publishers Specializing in Diversity

Recommended Books for Librarians